WIAW Little Bit of This, Little Bit of That

In pure form, all these eats are from Tuesday. I had a dentist appointment Tuesday morning so due to an earlier than usual wake up call with no morning run, I got a bit hungrier than usual throughout the day.

I also wanted to thank everyone for their feedback yesterday. I’m working on a post about fasted running and why I think it works best for me. Keep an eye out for the next two weeks! WHAT-I-ATE-WEDNESDAY-NEW-BUTTON-PEAS-AND-CRAYONS1-300x150

And as always, thanks Jenn for hosting!

Nothing is more sad than a totally empty refrigerator…. And this is what mine usually looks like by the time Saturday afternoon rolls around. It’s photos like these that make me realize I am SO not ready to be an adult.

😦

Breakfast: Vega protein, banana, almond butter, almond milk, topped with some strawberries and blueberries.

Morning Snack: oatmeal with cashew butter – this might be the only semi-attractive looking photo I’ve ever taken on my oatmeal. Go me.
 Lunch: spaghetti squash with tomato puree, a green bell pepper (not pictured), and a s’mores Quest protein bar (also not pictured). Hunger was real today my friends.

Snack: celery for days. I usually cut up an entire bag on Sunday and bring the container to work with me so I can munch on it instead of the countless quantities of chips and granola we have in the office. Pair it with some PB2 and we got a winner!  Dinner: post run I usually crave something salty so I figured why not, and had 4 egg whites, 1 piece Ezekiel bread, and a 1/4 cup of Diaya shredded pepper jack cheddar cheese.

Sad news: I had a dentist appointment  yesterday morning and they informed me I have not one, not two, but six cavities. For someone who doesn’t eat a lot of sugar (at least I don’t think so…) I’m pretty shocked. So, thanks to my enamels incredible ability to become super porous, I am no longer drinking soda. Which gives me the sads. I will also no longer be eating candy, brownies, or cookies. I will however still eat frozen yogurt. And cupcakes. Because we all need something.

Let’s see how long that lasts…


Anyone else have a ridiculous amount of cavities?

What food to you crave after a run?

What other food can I bring to work to snack on to avoid the chips and granola?

37 thoughts on “WIAW Little Bit of This, Little Bit of That

  1. After a run I want salty too. In summer I go for melon, but in winter salty all the way. As for snacks to bring to work: I like carrots and hummus, yogurt, cup of noodles in a pinch (but not so healthy), nuts, dried figs, and I drink carbonated water to help me avoid soda.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cavities are stupid. The only thing that I could think of would be that you do eat a lot of fruit, which has acid and sugar. But I’m no dentist! And yeah, to echo Kate, (above), some people just have all the luck. I can’t adult because while I can grocery shop, I cannot keep this damn apartment clean. I’m calling someone in to deal with it and help us start over!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So one time I went to the dentist and he told me I had 7 cavities and I’ve NEVER had a cavity before. I thought he was ripping me off and he was technically because I didn’t need to get them all filled. So I switched dentists….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I haven’t made spaghetti squash in a while… I need to get on that. Sorry about the cavities. That’s random to have so many. It’s not like you eat candy like it’s your job. Maybe it’s genetics?!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve only had one cavity in my whole life BUT my dentist seemed really concerned last time I was there that I might be headed down that path – the multiple cavity thing. I don’t get it. I do love my junk food but it’s not like I mow down on it everyday – for the most part, I eat healthy. I love soda but I already really limit when I drink it. UGHHHHH!!! I’m so sorry to hear this! Your food made me hungry, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Six cavities?! That sucks and sounds so painful! Ugh..good luck with that 😦 I’ve only had one cavity which I got years ago, then when I went to a new dentist they said the filling was chipping or cracked or something so I had to get it filled again. That was no fun…getting a cavity filled and I didn’t even do anything wrong 😦 Also, I just got my first spaghetti squash and i’m kinda nervous and excited to try it!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I went a few years without going to the dentist when I first moved to Baltimore and when I finally went I had a bunch of cavities. Ever since then I have gone regularly! I usually crave salty foods after a run, and since I run in the morning anything with bacon usually hits the spot:)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. JAMIE!!!!!!!!!!! Twins. Okay so I just finished up a week’s worth of dental appointments (3 visits total, 6 cavities total). When I was 16 years old, I had eleven cavities at once. ELEVEN. He obviously spread the fillings out over a period of time, but holy SHAT. So between the age of 16 and my now tender loving age of 37, I’ve had many more fillings done including a root canal (with a crown). I’m probably pushing 35 fillings in this mouth, no lies. K, I feel sick with myself now. Frigging wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I need to get some celery instead of eating granola haha. Also that cashew butter looks so good. This is way less food than my hungry days lol. I had a bout of a lot of cavities over the past few years-they are expensive. I have very creviced teeth and apparently need to floss everyday.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I oddly never had cavity issues (just one my whole life!) even though I eat lots of sugar from fruit, ice cream, and my homemade GF baked goods. I don’t drink soda though, although I only cut it out 3 years ago, so I guess it’s just genetics…?

    I always crave breakfast foods after a run, large yummy omelets and GF toast!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Six cavities! Okay, I don’t mind the dentist but that’s because I’ve had pretty good luck thus far (still have yet to make my consultation for wisdom teeth…). I eat a TON of sugar though. My mom said it’s because we grew up with fluoride in the water at home which protects your teeth? Who knows.

    My fridge always looks like that too. As opposed to my parent’s house where I could never find anything in the fridge because it was so full. #nevergrowingup

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Bummer on the cavities. My teeth are really “weak” also so I’ve had my fair share. My husband didn’t have any until he was 20 and then he had 17!! I guess that what happens when your mom isn’t reminding you to brush/floss anymore. 🙂
    I’m never super hungry after a run so my go-to is chocolate milk.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Don’t feel bad, I had one of those dentist trips too where I had like 4 or 5 cavities. That was a few years ago and I haven’t had any since, but I didn’t give anything up. I’ve just been more careful about brushing my teeth longer and flossing. Right after a run I always want something super greasy and fattening… fast food or mac and cheese usually. I don’t eat those things TOO often so I think of it as a little cheat meal to reward myself for a good workout.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Ummmmm 13 cavities. I have 13. I will be at the dentist every other week for the next several months. yup. but i also eat a LOT of sugar, but i brush and floss a lot… dentist said it could also be genetic. but 13?? thats half of my mouth!! ugh.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Ugh, my teeth are the same way! I’ve cut back on my sugar big time in recent years and STILL have gotten cavities! And I hate going to the dentist anyway. I’m usually not hungry immediately after my run, but an hour or so after I’ll have either a chocolate cherry spinach smoothie or a bowl of protein oatmeal with nut butter 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I can’t adult because I’ve been putting off going to the dentist for a couple years now. I had my first cavity filled two or three years ago and now I’m scared about having more, but I just can’t bring myself to go. After a run I either want super salty eggs or a huge bowl of oatmeal with fruit.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. After I got my braces off, I had 8 cavities! It was crazy! I also had to get my wisdom teeth out…so they put me under and just did it all in one fell swoop. Hmm…I work around food all day so there is always something to snack on. I’d say grapes. They are delicious and hydrating 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. 6?! That’s nuts! I’m glad you aren’t entirely giving up on dessert 🙂 I BLAME THE POP! I’m excited for your post about fasted running AND I am WAY less ready to be an adult than you. Reason: today was my first real pay day and my check got lost in cyber space because I changed banks and never changed my information at the payroll department. GOOD TIMES!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I didn’t start to get cavities until after I had kids, so strange. My 3 year old has a new one every time we go to the dentist and we are really good about brushing teeth. Some people are just more prone I guess?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

