Tried It Tuesday – ISTJ-T

This past weekend I was talking with my mom about life (at the beach where all “life” conversations occur) and she told me I need to learn to be a bit more flexible. I’m sorry what? I can’t touch my toes, but personality wise I’m so easy going…..

When I started to defend myself about what a “relaxed” and “cool as a cucumber” person I am, I had the life altering shocking realization I am not. Probably just shocking to me. But still. I started describing myself and I realized that maybe I’m not totally as laid-back as I claim to be. So wait… what else don’t I know about myself?? It’s no secret I like taking quizzes. I would even go as far to say I like tests (of the multiple choice variety). So I figured, why not take a personality quiz. You know, where you get the results and it’s actually just a jumble of letters as an acronym that describes all your personal intricacies. And then I have to use a key to figure out what the acronym means, and then a dictionary to figure out what said personality traits actually mean.

So to get to the point of the post (do I ever really have a point?), I am linking up with Sara from Lake Shore Runner for her Tried it Tuesday and OlivesnWine for Treat Yourself Tuesday to share with the world (LOL JK just the 10 of you who read my blog) what the internet (so we know it’s accurate) says about my personality.

LSR-Tried-it-Tuesday-500x499

You can find the test HERE. It really only took me about 10 minutes to complete which is a totally acceptable amount of time to procrastinate in the morning during the time of “getting to work” and actually “sitting down to do work”.

So what did my test say… I’m a Logistician (ISTJ-T)….. like I said… I needed to look a few things up.

Screen Shot 2015-07-31 at 11.32.23 AM

Logistician: Obviously I googled this because 1. I didn’t know it was a real profession and 2. I had no idea what they do.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics says logisticians “analyze and coordinate an organization’s supply chain—the system that moves a product from supplier to consumer. They manage the entire life cycle of a product, which includes how a product is acquired, distributed, allocated, and delivered.” Again, I had no idea this was a “thing” but if I did, it might have been a career I pursued. KIDDING I LOVE HEALTHCARE!

Now onto my weird acronym… ISTJ-T

Introverted 31%: I am more introverted than extroverted. Kinda makes sense to me since I’m an only child in a very small family. Introverts are said to “prefer solitary activities (running hai) and get exhausted by social interaction. They tend to be quite sensitive to external stimulation (sound, sight, smell) in general”. This shocks me zero percent.

Observant 78%: I am more observant than I am intuitive. Observants are described as “highly practical, pragmatic, and down-to-earth. They tend to have strong habits and focus on what is happening or what has already happened”. Again, I felt like this little quiz wizard knew me. I love schedules. I love order. And I love rituals. Probably why I like planners and training plans.

Thinking 1%: This was a close one. Thinking vs. Feeling. I definitely know myself to be a deep thinker (math/science love) but I also have a hard time deciding whether I should listen to my head or my heart in a lot of situations. Especially personal ones. Thinking types are described as “less empathetic and more competitive”. Yep. Okay. I see why I leaned to the 1%.

Judging 86%: Well then. Compared to prospecting types, I am far more “judging”, meaning I do not improvise well, and tend to be rather inflexible (Mom this one’s for you…). Yikes… maybe I should try to be more prospecting (more flexible, relaxed, nonconformist who likes to keep their options open…) Hmmm I didn’t think I was THAT bad…

Turbulent 64%: Opposed to assertive, “turbulent individuals are self-conscious and sensitive to stress. They are likely to experience a wide range of emotions and to be success-driven, perfectionistic and eager to improve”. I’m 100% self-conscious, especially when it comes to my professional life, I find myself attempting to be a perfectionist. Maybe that’s what makes me pretty decent at my job, but I can also understand why this may not be one of the best characteristics to have. It absolutely feeds into my competitive drive, but I can often feel compelled to be in charge especially in aspects of life (work/personal) where I feel like I am being judged.

Of all the characteristics determined through my 10 minute online quiz, “turbulent” caused me the most self reflection. I think the quiz is an interesting concept, and I definitely recommend giving the quiz a try. I’m not saying it will cure all your personal struggles/conflicts, but I think some character attributes were more prominent than I expected/realized.

I’m linking up with Amanda this week to share this post for Thinking Out Loud Thursday!


Have you ever taken a personality test?

If you have, what acronym did you receive?

Do you think you have a pretty good idea of how others perceive you?

45 thoughts on “Tried It Tuesday – ISTJ-T

  1. I don’t remember my exact acronyms, but I took this in high school and was like 8 points to the introverted side and 20 points to the logistician side. I also know that I’m a thinker, and I would imagine that I’m a “judger.” I would be very interested to see what it would say now–I’m very much more relaxed in certain situations now. But I would tag myself as an ambivert.
    And Turbulent, eh? I’ll try not to rile you up 😀
    Actually, this jives with your crohn’s, which is prevalent in type A females and also tied to your hormones.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Interesting… I had no idea about it’s correlation with Crohn’s…. do you have more information on that.. I feel like it would totally fascinate me haha

      Like

  2. This is so interesting!! I’m going to take it when I get home. In college, I was a marking major and we did a lot with personality tests for a market research class. I forget what my acronym was though. I used to love that stuff! Great post, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. It can be so much easier to see certain qualities in others than in ourselves so you’re not alone there. I have taken a personality test back in college psych but don’t remember much of the results except that I was high on the introvert and observant scales. Looks like we are similar that way! I will take it again and see what it shows. Thanks for your candidness 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is so interesting, Jamie! The first time I took one of these, I was surprised to see that I had such high tendencies toward introversion; now, I totally get it. I think, as I’ve aged, those tendencies have kind of become more prominent to me. I’m also definitely a perfectionist and, for me, it just means that it takes forever for me to get something done – ha! This is fun!! I’ll have to try this one out!

    Like

  5. I got ENFJ-T. The Protagonist- “ENFJs are natural-born leaders, full of passion and charisma. Forming around two percent of the population, they are oftentimes our politicians, our coaches and our teachers, reaching out and inspiring others to achieve and to do good in the world. With a natural confidence that begets influence, ENFJs take a great deal of pride and joy in guiding others to work together to improve themselves and their community.” awwwww yeah. hahah

    Like

  6. I got INFJ-A. The career path section totally describes me because I need work that’s creative, meaningful, but also productive and organized. I don’t do well in traditional desk jobs. I also got 58% introvert, which so, so true.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I think I’m super flexible too but if I asked someone else I don’t know what they would say haha! I got ESFJ! It says I’m practical, social, and would do well as a teacher…good thing that’s what my job is 🙂 I have always wanted to go into administration or do something in the education field other than teaching after I have a little bit of experience and apparently I’ll be good at that, too! This was a cool quiz. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love these – I got ITSJ-A – and am actually a little surprised that I got the ‘assertive’ part only because they define it as people not pushing themselves too hard. I think I am great at my job which is high pressure because I handle stress very well, as in it doesn’t phase me and I don’t get distracted by multiple projects/people/demands and I am very good at organization – but disagree on the part where it says I don’t push too hard to achieve goals. Just very even keeled in my perfectionist ways. Once upon a time though I used to be an extreme extrovert – aging has changed that!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh my goodness. That was easily the most accurate thing I’ve ever read about myself.
    Thank you so much for sharing this quiz with us! I love how it gave you some real insight into your personality! It definitely did the same for me as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I sometimes have internal social anxiety. I look ok on the outside but internally I am freaking out. It’s good that I hide it well, but I bet my cortisol is OFF THE CHARTS. I like plans and rituals and having some sort of schedule. However, I like to teach myself and learn better outside of a classroom setting.
    Does your BF think you could be more flexible?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha probably. I’m definitely very structured in my ways… sometimes he says “I feel like you watch me when I eat in case I make a mess”… YIKES haha

      Like

  11. I am an INFJ, and it is crazy because the description analyzes me perfectly to the T. Personality types and psychology in general fascinated me greatly!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Being a psychologist, I have both taken and administered a number of personality tests. I taught a personality class for several years and really enjoyed helping my students discover and identify certain traits that could help explain behaviors and attitudes.

    Our personalities are a lot alike. I am an only child too and grew up more introverted than extroverted (although I am fine in social situations – I prefer one on one or small group environments). I also scored fairly high on judging (71%) and turbulent. The others were more split. I wonder if some of traits are most likely to occur in only children?

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I’ve taken this test before too, but I honestly can’t remember my results. I always think it’s interesting to see what they say, but I’m also super hesitant to put too much weight on them. They’re still a great way to get us to think about the causes of certain habits and behaviours though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

