MIMM July Recap

I’m linking up with Erin for Weekend RecapTara for Weekend Update, and Katie for Marvelous Monday to recap everything that was marvelous last month. I can’t believe it’s August already. I am looking forward to two fabulous trips to Nantucket this month, but I figured I should take a moment to look back at how my July running was.

MiMM

Also, let’s just take a moment to appreciate that in 5 short days I will have my butt permanently parked on a beach chair. Things I’m most certainly not sad about.

July Running:
187.2 miles, 8’04” average pace

It took me a while to find my groove with running again. I didn’t have too many workouts in July, but rather just trying to get back in the groove on falling into a training schedule. Although I never felt like I lost consistency in my running, feeling the “pressure” of having workouts on the schedule was definitely something that I needed to adjust to again.

7/27 – 8/2 Workout Recap:
Monday AM Run: 7.67 miles, 7’42” average pace
Tuesday AM Run: 5.35 miles, 8’12” average pace
*Had planned to run a tempo run at run club in the afternoon, but totally wussed out due to heat and humidity (officially when I decided I needed to stop complaining about said heat and humidity)
Wednesday AM Run: 8.01 miles, 8’04” average pace
Thursday AM Run: 5.53 miles, easy 8’18” average pace
Friday: Day off. Walked 4.5 miles after work. Good to get my legs moving and rest before long run Saturday.
Saturday AM Run: 14.25 miles, 8’02” average pace. Finally a long run that I didn’t sweat my body weight out during.
Sunday PM Run: 5.26 miles, 8’04” average pace. Ran home mid-day after spending the morning at the beach with my parents.

Total Miles: 46 running, 11 miles walked
Average Pace: 8’04”

I am hoping to incorporate more strength training/cross training this week, as well as hitting my Tuesday night run club run and hopefully another hill workout. I’m traveling to Nantucket Saturday so that will most likely be my rest day/short shake out run, with my long run having to be pushed until Sunday.


How was your week of workouts?

What’s your favorite way to stay active while on vacation? I’ll be doing lots of early morning runs!

35 thoughts on “MIMM July Recap

  1. I really need to start cross training and lifting more. Once I got cleared to run, that’s all I wanted to do! OBVS! I know the other stuff is important. I love to run on vacation. I’ve gotten to run all over the world because of it! I even placed in the top 5 in a race in Taiwan and won money! Have a great week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Agree that Saturday’s break in humidity was nice! Looks like it’ll be cooling down later in the week too. I do like running early morning at the beach on vacation, but keeping it easy and pressure free. I don’t love having long runs to do when I’m away though, I feel like my motivation lacks.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Definitely keep running on vacation (in fact my friend entered us in a 10K in Hyde Park when I’m in London, and half my California trip is the Dumbo Double Dare, so both my bar trips are race-cations!) But more for fun than goals or anything else. And of course I always end up walking a lot because my favorite vacations are active. Down the Cape I’m always walking on the beach, and in England I’m going hiking in the Lake District 🙂

    Have so much fun on ACK!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. nice mileage!!! i’m just hovering at 30 and am A-OK with that for now 🙂 baby steps!
    i’m still doing my Tues/Thursday strength training and so far i’ve really loved it. i had a trainer come for 10 sessions and now i’m on my own. the trainer helped me get into the habit so now it’s like natural… almost, haha!
    my favorite thing to do is definitely running when i’m on vacation – runcation! i feel like i can enjoy the local eats and treats more and see more sites.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I absolutely LOVE running on vacation! I get so bored with my usual routes and it’s the perfect way to really mix them up. 🙂 You had such an excellent week! Mine was decent, although I did take an extra rest day because my legs were like lead. I hope you have an awesome trip, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So glad you’re feeling like you’re back at it again! I’m realizing that although my training isn’t that different now that I’m “officially” marathon training, I don’t like feeling like I have to run. This moment, for example, the first 4 miles I was like I hate running. I don’t want to do this. Blah blah blah. Then I realized that if I weren’t training for anything, I’d probably still be out there doing a long run and instead of feeling like I had to do it, I’d WANT to. Such a huge difference after that. I enjoy running/biking on vacation, but when I’m home, I prefer to take the week off running altogether and go for long walks with my parents.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great week of training! I love to squeeze in morning or lunchtime runs while on vacation and go on long walks or hikes later in the day. Hopefully the next five days go by fast for you and you’re at the beach in no time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks girl! I wish I could “runch” more often, but my office doesn’t have showers so to respect those around me I refrain from mid-day sweat sessions ! Haha

      Like

  8. Jamie, you’re doing GREAT!! I’m so excited about your upcoming vacation; I hope you post lots of pics so that I can live vicariously. I didn’t have too exciting a week of training, due to packing/moving last week, but I ended the week with a PR at my race, so I’m stoked about that! Hope your week is off to a great start!

    Like

  9. Awesome week, sister! Love that you are going on another getaway to Nantucket soon! We are at our lake house and I get to run a lot of miles here but they are not about pace. It’s like mountain climbing! It’s a fun challenge. I also do lots of open water swimming. Are the beach runs you were talking about your runs in Nantucket? If so I hope you post lots of pictures when you get back!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. So many bloggers recently have been asking what my favorite way to exercise while on vacation is…I want to give this great answer like run through the local town, take a hiking tour or learn to surf…but I have to be honest, I haven’t been on vacation in years so I really have no idea how I would stay fit. Hopefully the weather is warm enough for outside running or there is a gym at the hotel. That’s all I can say for now X-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

