Already?

Good morning everyone! I hope you all had a fabulous weekend and are starting your Monday off nice and relaxed!

Since I didn’t recap my workouts over the weekend, I’m linking up with Erin for Weekend RecapTara for Weekend Update, and Katie for Marvelous Monday to tell you all about my Marvelous Week of Running. While it was nothing too crazy, I am happy with my build up in milage and am finally to feel like I’m back into a training cycle.

MiMM

Workout Recap 7/13 – 7/19:

Monday:
AM Run (7.25 miles, 7’24” pace): Pre-work run. Felt good to move my legs. Ran at a “comfortably aggressive pace”.

Tuesday:
AM Run (4.50 miles, 8’38” pace): Easy shakeout run.
PM Run (4.16 miles, 7’33” pace): So. Humid.

Wednesday:
30 Minute Plyo Training / Rest Day

Thursday:
AM Run (7.40 miles, 8’15” pace): Easy, relaxed run before work.

Friday:
AM Run (5.65 miles, 8’03” pace): Easy pre-work run. Hot hot hot.

Saturday:
AM Run (11.3 miles, pace 8’12”): My boyfriend and I got up pretty early in attempts to beat the building humidity and heat to get our run in. Within 10 minutes we were totally down poured on. And then again. And again. It was a brutal run, and a tough course but it felt so good to be done.

Sunday:
AM Run (5.0 miles, pace 7’57”): Easy shake out run.

Total Miles: 45.26. Overall I was happy with the increase in milage, but am hoping to focus a bit more on speed work these next few weeks. I also want to recommit to a bit more stretching/upper body strength training. So we shall see. The heat and humidity is supposed to be absolutely out of control this week so I plan on getting my runs in early before work. Otherwise I know my couch will be FAR too tempting after work. : )

I’ll be back tomorrow to talk about my weekend for Sara’s Tried it Tuesady. I did some pretty fun things and totally conquered (read: started to) my fear of heights…

Stay tuned : )


What was your favorite part of the weekend?

How do you deal with running in the humidity??

53 thoughts on “Already?

  1. Humidity — I deal with it by cursing it, excusing it, loving it for making me mentally stronger, cursing it some more, thanking it for a pre-shower sweat shower, then I karate-chop the air a bit because it’s so thick. Happy Monday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice job this weekend, speedy! I will live vicariously through you for speed this week – I had a summer cold, blah! I slow down in the humidity…lots. But I make sure to go out anyway – I’m convinced it will make me stronger in the “long run”. Ha! Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sunday night after a long waitressing shift is the best time of the weekend for me. Very rarely I`ll go out with friends but when I do I make sure I enjoy them to the fullest! I`m not a huge runner so I don`t have to worry about the humidity because I just won`t run if it`s too hot!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great week of running! I don’t really deal well with the humid weather in running so I usually just take to the tmill. I know it is a cop out but I would rather have a good run than a run that was bad due to the heat!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great week! Nice. The downpour sounds kinda fun, but I can see how it might get a bit frustrating. When I have to run in the heat, I put my head/hair in the sink and soak it with cold water, soak my hat with cold water and then run. If I’m doing a long run I’ll do two loops and re-soak my head at the halfway point.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Awesome week of running! Those two a days would be hard for me. The last thing I want to do after a 10+ hour day is run which is why I am a morning runner! I ran a 10k race for fun yesterday and did just that, had fun!!
    I do what you do to beat the humidity- run as early as possible. Some mornings is still humid! Have a great Monday!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nice mileage! It was so hot here this weekend. I competed in a triathlon where the heat index was over 100 degrees. It was awful (especially the run part). I was thinking it should have been swim/bike/swim, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I cannot imagine running outside in this right now, me and the treadmill continue our lovely relationship with Netflix (I sound so lazy watching Netflix while running all the time). I want to start transitioning into outdoors as I am feeling better and more confident…but its awful out there right now so bravo to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. great week of runs/training, girl! my wknd was amazing as i spent it in Montauk with my best girlfriends, so i can’t ask for anything better than that. i did get runs in both days, but nothing crazy — 5 miles Sat am at the beach and 5 miles last night here in NYC, where it was soooooo miserable and ridiculously humid/hot. i haven’t run in conditions like last night in a looong time and i think everyone was feeling it, as almost every runner i saw was struggling or walking/running! how do i run in humidity? NOT WELL or happily. i pray a lot and drink SO MUCH WATER. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. How are you liking Plyo? I tried one and wasn’t overly impressed, but have heard good things about the system as a whole. Awesome work! Especially in the humidity! #beastmode

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t LOVE the workouts but I like the feeling I get after I’m done. I also think it has helped a lot with my fast twitch muscles and improved the stability around my joints in my knees and hips. I definitely do feel a bit of a difference in my running too. : )

      Like

  11. Nice job on all of those runs! It amazes me how all of you East Coasters run through humidity like it’s nothing! I’m actually a bit jealous you got to run in some rain – so far there has barely been any ran in Seattle and I really just want to run in a light Seattle spit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Light rain I love… I ended up having to take my shirt off and carry it because it go so heavy from the rain. And I am NOT a sports bra runner haha.

      Like

  12. Nice job this week! You totally rocked it! It’s been hot here too but every time I feel like I hate life during a humid run, I just visualize the cold weather on November 1…:-) #marathontwins

    Just curious, some of the runs say AM Run but then say “post work”…are you secretly a third shifter or are you cheating on your morning runs?? LOL jk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally agree! I know I’ll be complaining about “layering” before I know it : ) Hahah I think it’s more of a “pre-run brain” and totally typed post instead of pre… haha Thanks for the catch!

      Like

  13. I think we all suffer when it’s humid out there. As I was reading blog posts this morning it was funny to read that everybody complained about their Saturday run. It was humid indeed! My long run on Thursday felt miserable too. I managed to end up with some decent mileage for the week. You still have to put yourself out there and do it even if ends up as not one of your favorite runs and you’re much slower. It will pay of in the Fall.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I usually don’t think the humidity affects me but after running a half yesterday in it, I don’t think I’ll ever do another summer half marathon again. It is NO joke. So miserable. You still had an awesome week!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. What a week! You are killing the first weeks of training – amazing job!! In order to beat the humidity, I have to be running with other people. Otherwise, I hate every single second of my run and I don’t like to hate running… so I stick to the treadmill when by myself. Yeah, I’m a bit of a wimp. But my main priority is to enjoy running and I honestly like the treadmill more than I like running in this awful humidity!!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. The humidity is killer! I haven’t discovered any great ways to handle it besides getting up early so the heat doesn’t make it worse.

    Favorite part of my weekend was getting home from a 2 week trip and sleeping in my own bed for the first time this summer! The best 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. The best part of my weekend were the lazy mornings spent eating with my cats. My best friend and roomie went to a music festival and while I missed her, the quiet was just what I needed to balance the craziness at work. I actually ran on Sunday (first run in July) and although slow, my hip was not hurting. That is a huge success for me! You have a fear of heights hmm? I don’t know if I do because I’m never up very high to get scared…I need to fix this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

