#MIMM

Sometimes I can’t get over how smart I am. Taking the Monday off after a long weekend is amazing. Although tomorrow will be a big shock back to reality, I am enjoying this extra day to get myself all caught up on laundry, food prep, and some last minute beach time.

Since I last checked in, I enjoyed a pretty relaxing, low key 4th in Nantucket. And I successfully (somewhat) completed my first week of NYCM training!

I’m linking up with Erin for Weekend RecapTara for Weekend Update, and Katie for Marvelous Monday to tell you all about my Marvelous Weekend, but I will be keeping it short and sweet to make sure I can enjoy the last few moments of my long weekend : )

MiMM

1. Nantucket. So let’s just start with the obvious. This is truly my happy place. I feel completely at home and relaxed from the moment I step off the ferry. I’ve been very lucky to have been up a few times already this year, and with more trips planned, it made leaving today a little bit easier.

  
Let’s just say each time I come, it gets harder and harder to leave. #Spoiled

2. Running. Speaking of Nantucket, I was able to get some runs in. Saturday was officially my first long-run of my training cycle. My past week of running was decent, definitely not where I’d like it to be, but I’m on the mend.

Week Recap 6/29 – 7/5:
Monday: Rest day post half marathon on Sunday (you can read the recap here)
Tuesday:
AM: 5.49 easy miles to shake out my legs post race (8’20” overall pace)
PM: 4.59 tempo miles – conversational pace… hoping to be back to more aggressive pacing in the next few weeks (7’27” overall pace)
Wednesday: Rest day because YOLO
Thursday: 5.04 miles, 7’13” pace (on Nantucket woohoo!)
Friday: 7.02 miles at a comfortable pace (8’01” average)
Saturday: 10.0 miles (8’04” average pace)
Sunday: Travel day/Rest day

Total miles: 32ish

Ideally I’d like to be running more days this upcoming week. I would also like to get a day of cross training back in the schedule.

3. Cleanse: So this past weekend I was pretending hoping that my stomach would be back to normal. Unfortunately, I think I need a reboot. Welcome to day 1 of juice cleanse. I will do a post tomorrow about what cleanse I am following (I did some research, combined foods that work for me, and made my own plan) and will be following it for a full SEVEN days. Fingers crossed I can make it : )

That’s all for today. If you need me, I’m dead set on finishing my book on the beach. Hope you all had a fabulous weekend and have a great Monday!


What was your favorite part of the weekend?

Anyone else crazy enough to try a cleanse? How did it go?

Favorite workout this past week? All runs on Nantucket are the best kind of runs!

56 thoughts on “#MIMM

  1. It is on my bucket list to go to Nantucket one day! I have done one 3-day juice cleanse and while it helped, I knew the results would not be long lasting. The body cleanses itself it is just a matter of eating “from the earth” foods.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m doing a “cleanse” right now… but not by choice! I’ve done stomach reboots before–they really help. Sometimes I talk about “overtraining” for the stomach”–our crohn’s bodies sometimes get to over training mode and need a rest before getting back to work. Fingers crossed for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never done a cleanse so I’m curious to hear about your experience…especially with training! My favorite workout was my run yesterday morning. Farthest run since February (10 miles). And yes, you are a genius for taking today off.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Seriously whenever you post about Nantucket you make me want to transport there! Looks like a perfect weekend and so smart to add that extra Monday day off 🙂 I cannot wait to hear about your cleanse–after this weekend of over-indulging I am in serious need of a reboot! Have a great day off 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hope the cleanse works! You have no idea how many times Nantuckett was brought up while I was home this past weekend. My parents want to go back so bad. I have been up since 3 am this morning. You are smart taking today off!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Enjoy your day off! I’m lucky enough to be able to work from home, so I’m staying home for an extra day and going in the office tomorrow. Not looking forward to it. I’ve never been to Nantucket but everyone raves about it! Maybe one of these days I’ll get up there. Hope you have a great week and make it through the cleanse feeling 100%!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Good luck on your cleanse! I hope you’re enjoying your last day of such a long weekend. You’re right though, the more time off you have the harder it is to go back. I had a 3 day weekend and this morning is ROUGH. Maybe I need to conjure up Nantucket 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. So smart to take today off! Enjoy it!! Looks like Nantucket is pretty awesome!
    Best part of my weekend was surprising my dad at his birthday party- he definitely wasn’t expecting it!
    Good luck this week with training and the cleanse. Hope it helps you feel back to normal!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. That looks beautiful – excited to hear more about your personalized cleanse, too! My favorite part of the weekend was seeing the fireworks in Breckenridge. It’s such a small, perfect town, and I love it in the Summer when everyone is out and about enjoying the sunshine. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It was crazy to me when I first moved here just how much people love the outdoors. Almost everyone gets out of the city every weekend to get skiing, hiking, paddle boarding, or whatever strikes their fancy! It’s addictive, that’s for sure. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Good luck with the cleanse, hopefully it does help to reboot your system. I am interested to read about how you do it, and how successful it is!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Enjoy the day off before you get back to reality! The way you feel about Nantucket is how I feel about Jamestown/Newport. There’s no place like it in the entire world and nowhere I’m happier. So I’m super happy for you that you get to go back so often 🙂

    I’ve never done a cleanse and know that I personally shouldn’t for my mental health, but I’ll be interested to see if it helps your body! I’d be dead if I tried to run and only drink juices for a week haha

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sorry to hear about your tummy trouble. That blows. The only cleanse I’ve done is the one that I had to do before my colonoscopy. It SUCKED. Are you able to still run while you’re doing the cleanse? Hope you feel better soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll still be running. It’s not a fasting or juice cleanse so I should still have energy! And yeah haha pre-colonoscopy cleanses are THE REAL DEAL!

      Like

  13. My favorite part of the weekend was hanging out with family and friends in San Antonio and watching fireworks out on the lawn of my sisterinlaw’s amazing house! my other favorite part was running with a new club on saturday morning, the houston galloway group – they are totally sweet and just my speed while i’m still recovering and building my base again 🙂
    i’ve done a candida cleanse/diet before and remember the ups and downs but it was helpful. i need to do it again actually since my skin has been cray cray lately!
    my fav run this week was on Wednesday, I did a fast (for me) 10K in 52 minutes and that included a warmup and cooldown so I felt like a boss. lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. i almost always take the monday, or tuesday, off after a long weekend. i didn’t do it this time though :/. i still haven’t been to nantucket but i think i am going to the cape this weekend

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Mondays off are always THE BEST! Your Nantucket trip looks so relaxing and beautiful, so glad you got to do that! The beach looks so peaceful. I’m excited to hear about the cleanse you are doing – I’ve done the Blue Print Cleanse a few times and another juice cleanse – I forget what the name was but it was a similar deal. SEVEN days is wild though – I’ve only done three. You can do it!! Great job with those miles!!! You are definitely on the mend!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I’ve never done a cleanse but have been curious about it. I like challenging myself with random things to see if I can keep with it. I did 100 days of no soda for fun last summer just to see if I could do it ( i LOVE soda ) and I did 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Great first week of training! Good luck on your cleanse, I hope it works for you! I did a modified cleanse after studying abroad and eating/drinking way too much. No white flour, no booze, no sugar (except fruit), and it really helped reset my stomach.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. The hydrangeas!! I loved seeing all of your pics, Jamie; I’m so glad you had such a great time and that you’ve already made plans to return. I think that would definitely make returning home (to reality – ha!) a little less painful. So, I’ve never tried a juice cleanse, but I always wondered what it might be like and if I could make it; I’ll be interested to follow along and see how things go for you. Thanks so much for linking up to the blog today; hope your return tomorrow goes well.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. The best part of my weekend was hanging out and relaxing after work. I didn’t do anything special, but that was ok for me. My favorite last workout were 30 second bike sprints. I only do like 10 of them, but it makes me feel great!

    Like

  20. Nantucket looks beautiful! No wonder it’s your happy place. Nice miles and paces! My favorite part of my weekend was eating s’mores and drinking a glass of wine…YOLO! 😉 having officially tried a cleanse. I started but then quit because my job and bathroom schedule just didn’t jive. O.o I have a very sensitive tummy…lol my fav workout was my 10k race. Nice strong finish! I start marathon training in two weeks!! Woo!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

