WIAW – Diaya

Guys… today is my last day of work this week! I’m so excited to be heading off to Nantucket and am in desperate need for some rest and relaxation, as well as some vitamin D and salt air!

I want to link up with Jenn to discuss a new to-me staple in my diet. Diaya Cheese.

WHAT-I-ATE-WEDNESDAY-NEW-BUTTON-PEAS-AND-CRAYONS1-300x150

But before there we have a few matters to discuss:

1. HAPPY FIRST DAY OF JULY! Rabbit Rabbit! When did this all happen? I feel like June went by in a flash, but with so many fun things to look forward to in July and August, I’m not so sad about it!

2. Like I said before, I’m heading out tomorrow morning to go up to Nantucket. I have a blog post scheduled for Thursday, but other than that, I won’t be back until Monday. I’m really looking forward to spending time away from the computer, enjoying the island air, and spending time with the BF. And of course, being patriotic and festive #AF.

3. Okay…  I’m slowly introducing non-liquid food back into my diet, I’ve been keeping it simple. But part of keeping meals simple means they typically end up being pretty bland. My usual diet of oatmeal and nut butter or dry eggs on toast have become pretty monotonous. And it’s no secret that dairy, particularly cheese seems to be quite a GI irritant. But I found the most tasty, most expensive form of lactose-free, gluten-free, vegan cheeseDiaya Cheese   I will be honest… eating it cold is rather disappointing. But heating it up for a grilled cheese, or mixing in my with my scrambled eggs has brought some life back into my meals. It’s pretty tasty, and while definitely not the “real deal” it does the trick.

Egg, Veggie, and Diaya Scramble post run club

The best part about it, it’s primary ingredient is filtered water : ) Can’t go wrong with that! I’m partial to the cheddar cheese flavor and in all honesty it’s the only one I’ve tried. But the company doesn’t do just cheese, it does Cheezecakes (LOL at the name), Pizzas, and even Cheezy Mac : ) And their website even offers recipes.

While a little pricy, it’s totally worth it. I seriously suggest you checking it out and letting me know what you think! After eating it, I don’t feel quite as heavy or as bloated as I do after regular cheese. TMI – it’s whatever.

Anyways, here’s a photo dump of other random things I’ve been eating…

Chopped veggies tossed with oil/vinegar salt and pepper.
Homemade Acai Bowl, frozen banana, freeze dried strawberries and blueberries

Granola Bar – my love for you has been rekindled ❤

The Wake Up – almond milk, banana, espresso (usually comes with almond butter, I get it without)
As seen on Monday’s post and Instagram. The Shrek. Best believe I will be getting you again ASAP!

Have you ever tried vegan cheese?

What’s a new to you product you’ve tried recently?

Best think you’ve eaten this week?

48 thoughts on “WIAW – Diaya

  1. Try the Daiya cheesecake that I reviewed a few weeks back! Daiya was one of the first “cheeses” that I introduced back into my diet, and one of the few “cheeses” that i have. I am with you though–it is waaaaay better melted!

    Like

  2. Vegan cheese – I used to hate it (i tried it in high school a few times) but found my love for it again recently at a local vegan joint. They have great veggie burgers with vegan cheese. Yum!

    I just started eating acai and smoothie bowls and love them! How did you make yours?

    Yay for WIAW!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I use a lot of frozen acai berry pures, blend with almond milk, ice, and frozen banana (some people also add in nut butter) and then top with whatever I want! I have a recipe on my blog a few posts back!

      Like

  3. Have so much fun this weekend–LOVE a long weekend!! A few months ago, I accidentally tried Trader Joe’s Vegan Mozzarella on a pizza and it caused me massive stomach issues (delicious, but bad news bears!). I guess I am not used to vegan food. Needless to say, I am wary to try it again :/

    Like

  4. Yes, I’ve tried a few vegan cheeses. Some of them seriously gross me out though!! I bought Trader Joe’s shredded mozz & jack soy cheese the other day and it was surprisingly delish! I also tried Tofutti sour cream for the first time & was pleasantly surprised again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Chopped veggies with vinegar and oil is my favorite for summer! So simple but delicious:) I’ve never tried vegan cheese, but any kind of processed cheese (specifically velveeta) always freaked me out so I don’t know if I will try it…I’m glad that you like it though and that it doesn’t bother you! Happy July 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have tried vegan cheese and actually liked it! when I was eating vegan, I loved me some nutritional yeast cheesy aflredo sauce, yumm. I also LUV cashew cheese. omg sooooooo good I still love it and crave it.
    I just tried this coconut based non-dairy whipped topping. I can’t remember the name but it’s vegan, dairy free, and delicious. I was really craving cool whip.. and didn’t want to actually eat the chemicals so this coconut whip stuff was DA BOMB 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I keep forgetting to add espresso to my smoothies! It’s such a great idea for summer mornings after my run. I need some new protein powder to add to it though. The only kind I have right now is the Vega greens one and that would just be super vom.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love cheese too much. I would feel guilty for cheating on real cheese with vegan cheese so I haven’t tried it, but I always see it in the grocery store! Enjoy your long weekend!! I’m sure you will have a blast in Nantucket 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jamie, I’ve done an elimination diet a couple of times where I’ve gone 30 days with no dairy and a friend introduced me to Daiya; I love it! I’ve even bought it on other occasions, outside of the elimination times, and I’m always so surprised at how well it melts and tastes. Even Jonathan (my husband) doesn’t mind it at all and that is the TRUE test – ha! I’m so glad you’ve found something new to enjoy! Hope you have a WONDERFUL vacation, girl!! Thursday is my last day at work and then I’m off to a lake cottage for next week – woo hoo!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’m glad you found a cheese to enjoy! The best thing I ate this week so far was baked trout, but the pulled pork we’re making for the Fourth just might beat that out. Have fun in Nantucket!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m so glad you found something for you!! BUT, I’m not going to lie, the idea of vegan cheese skeeves me out! haha I’m on a total kale salad kick right now! I dunno what it is, but I’m all about them lately.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I LOVE DIAYA! It is so good melted over sprouts. The cheese goes through them and get’s all stringy. I highly recommend that. The newest product I tried were vegan chicken breasts and I made vegan chicken bacon ranch sandwiches. They were pretty great!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. So true about that Daiya. It’s disgusting and rubbery cold but doesn’t taste half bad when you melt it in a sandwich! I like this almond milk shredded mozzarella style cheese I grab from whole foods the best as far as dairy-free cheeses.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

