Friday Faves – Nakd

It’s finally Friday. I don’t know about anyone else, but I feel like this week has been a weird one. I’m loving the weather we are now having, bye-bye humidity, and am wishing desperately that it will carry into the weekend.

Before I get into one of my newest favorite things, I wanted to talk a little bit about this weekend. So as most of you may have read, I was signed up to lead the 1:40 pace group this weekend at the Fairfield half marathon. I’m pretty bummed to announce this, but I had to bail. It was NOT an easy choice for me. As much as I would have loved and been so honored to have the experience to run as a pacer, I am not sure where my body stands. I have been running here and there, paces ranging from mid 7s to mid 8s. While I feel like I could still run a 1:40 half on Sunday, I couldn’t bear the thought of potentially throwing off someone else’s race. I will still be running, but really taking this in stride with how my body has been handling it’s last flare. After some un-fun side effects from treatment Tuesday night, I am crossing all my fingers and toes that I start to get some relief soon.

If you are running Fairfield on Sunday – I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to meet up! Blog friends in real life sounds PRETTY AWESOME to me!

So since it’s Friday, I’m linking up with HeatherKatie, and Clare this week for my Friday Favorites, now let’s recap my newest OBSESSIONEat Nakd Bars Natural Balance Foods natural protein bars, Nakd !

First off … this packaging though. Anyone who sends me something that says “hello gorgeous” is A.OK in my book : )  If we all can agree on one thing, it’s that I am extremely picky with the nutrition I put into my body (please ignore my pizza binges). Eat Nakd whole foods focuses on moving away from”hyper-processed junk foods and instead embracing new whole food alternatives”. Part of the reason I love to make my own date balls is because I know EXACTLY what I am putting into them. Nothing ticks me off more then when you go into a health foods store and the employees don’t know what the ingredients in their “energy balls” are. Like really?! #Tangent.

So when the people at Nakd reached out to me, I was BEYOND excited. From the company, “Eat Nakd bars are a perfect solution for those who want to replace over-processed foods with more nourishing whole foods. As champions of the benefits of raw, natural and unprocessed foods, Eat Nakd is making the move to whole foods easier than ever for health-concious snackers”. AKA sign this girl up! One of the most beautiful things about these bars is they are completely made of ingredients I have in my own kitchen. Eat Nakd bars contain 100% natural ingredients. Therefore, no added sugars or syrups. I think everyone can be happy about that. The bars are perfect for an afternoon snack. Small enough to not totally fill me up, but filling with all their natural ingredients that I’m not hungry 10 minutes later like I am after I eat a granola bar. The fruit bars are also all dairy, wheat, and gluten free.

Although Eat Nakd is based in the US, there are 9 AMAZING fruit and nut bars available in the US. Cocoa Mint, Cocoa Orange, Pecan Pie, Ginger Bread, Cocoa Delight, Caffe Mocha, Berry Delight, Rhubarb and Custard, and my personal favorite Cashew Cookie. Remember those health tips – always look at the ingredients list and if you can’t pronounce what’s in it, don’t eat it. Well how about this, my favorite bar only has two ingredients.

Two ingredients? Yes please!  While I haven’t tried every flavor, I can tell you that I like them ALL. I’m shying away from rhubarb and custard because I’m not sure I’ve ever had rhubarb and custard before. But going off all the other flavors, holy cow are they amazing! Ginger bread was perfect for a mid morning snack, where the pecan pie was an after dinner dessert : )

I also received a sample of Nakd Crunch bars, which I actually liked a bit more because of the crunch that came with it. I don’t know what it is, but I like making loud noises when I eat. I may still be a child. It’s whatever. Again, these bars are packed with natural ingredients, and just like the fruit and nut bars, they are dairy, wheat, and gluten free. Completely vegan friendly, and have a little bit more of a protein punch in them. They come in 4 flavors, strawberry, banana, apple, and cocoa. OBVIOUSLY cocoa was my favorite, because duh, chocolate. But again, I had no problem demolishing these bars.

If you’re looking for a perfect, healthy, and COMPLETELY natural snack, that’s easy to pack and provides long lasting energy, look no further. I can’t say enough great things about this company.

For more information, please feel free to visit their website at http://www.eatnakd.com, at their Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/eatnakd, or follow them on Twitter @nakd. You can purchase Eat Nakd products at their website or on Amazon.com

**I was sent this box of Eat Nakd bars to review and try, however I was not compensated for this post, and all opinions of the product are my own.


What’s your go-to healthy snack during the day? Before these, my homemade date balls, but these are perfect to throw in my gym bag before an afternoon run!

Which flavor would you most like to try? Any different flavor suggestions?

And because it’s Friday… what are you looking forward to most this weekend?!

52 thoughts on “Friday Faves – Nakd

  1. I know that was a tough decision for you, but it is best to listen to your body (even when you don’t want to)!! I am looking forward to my best friend’s bachelorette party–hopefully I survive 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You had my mouth watering with this one… these sound DELICIOUS! I love that they are 100% natural. Sometimes I’m not so conscious about what I’m eating so I feel like I need some of these in my pantry. I love Larabars which have similar ingredients/flavor combos, so I know I would love these!

    I’m sorry about the race, but you made the best decision for yourself and your body. There will be more opportunities in the future when you are feeling 100%! I hope you find some relief soon, I know it’s been tough lately 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks girl : ) Such a sweet note ! I highly recommend trying out some Nakd bars… I wasn’t a HUGE fan of Larabars, but these are so addicting. Hope you have a fab weekend!

      Like

  3. I love these bars! I actually discovered them by accident when I was in London and now that I don’t have the ability to by them it’s horrible! My favorite flavor was the gingerbread, oh man that was so good especially at xmas time! This weekend I am going to Berlin! I guess that’s pretty exciting 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sorry to hear about the race! I’m sure other opportunities will present themselves for you to pace a race at some point. You are doing the right thing 🙂 Pacing is not for everyone but if you do get a chance one day it’s a great way to give back and just another way to volunteer with the the running community. I hope you have a great weekend, lovely!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve been meaning to order some of these, after seeing a previous post about them; thanks so much for the reminder, Jamie! They sound absolutely delicious! I *think* our weather is supposed to cool off just a bit this weekend and I’m really excited about that; I have a long run planned for tomorrow and then, since we’ve just bought a home, I think I need to start cleaning some things out and packing…ugh. It should be okay, though!! I hope you have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 1) so sorry about the pacing 😦 but 2) SO PROUD OF YOU FOR DOING GOOD THINGS FOR YOUR BODY YAY and 3) this will make your body physically happy and your mental happiness will catch up soon oh and 4) those bars look wonderful so 5) hey Nakd, send Jamie some more so she can do a GIVEAWAY (to MK only)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hope you feel good and enjoy the weekend, that was a smart call with the race. Love the body we got right?
    I need to try the naked bars, love the ingredients lol seriously look amazing!
    We’re doing a Thai cooking class tomorrow with friends and I can’t wait 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cooking classes may be one of my favorite things. Perfect for date night or a girls night out! I learned how to make pizza from scratch and honestly it’s my favorite thing to do to date! Enjoy! : )

      Like

  8. Tough decision to make- I give you a lot of credit!
    Those bars look awesome! Cashew Cookie and Pecan Pie sound delicious. I will head over and check them out, thanks 🙂
    I tend to eat fruit for snacks (just love it!) but sometimes have Greek yogurt or almonds. Quick and easy.
    Looking forward to grilling out this weekend with family!
    Enjoy the race and have a great weekend!

    Like

  9. I love flattering packaging!! ❤
    I have been reading/hearing so much about these and I'm intrigued. They sound so good!! My go-to snack is usually greek yogurt, but I'm kind of burnt out on it right now. This weekend I'm looking forward to spending time with my girl!! It's a Betty and mommy weekend over here. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I think you made the right decision with the race even though I know how tough those decisions can be. I’ve had to bail on a lot of races in the past few years and it’s always way harder than it should be. But this will be best for you and your body as well as the runners. You can always pace it next year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely. I will still be running but it will be nice to not be concerned with pace and just listen to my body. I would be too nervous of messing up someone elses race!! Haha.

      Like

  11. My husband is British and loves custard, so he would be all over the rhubarb and custard bars. And yes, wise choice on not being a pacer. I think it would be too stressful, for me anyway, to be in charge of a bunch of people and not feel 100% like I could do it.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Yum those look so good! That’s why I like Larabars…fewer ingredients. Dates have so much sugar though, so sometimes I have to keep myself from having one! Ha! Good call on the race this weekend. Running is such a mental sport and it’s hard to make decisions even when you know they are the best for YOU! I’m sure you will rock as a pacer when that race comes around:) Have a good weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. OMG these bars sound perfect for me too!!! Wow!! I need to get some ASAP! And pecan pie sounds like the winner in my book but to be honest, they all sound really good. Thanks for reviewing these!
    And I know it must be difficult to bail on the pacing but it sounds like you made a good albeit tough decision. You don’t need any added stress on you. Really hope you start feeling better soon!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. The rhubarb and custard is amazing! It’s fruity, almost like berries. I’m sorry to hear about the race, but at least you can still run it. Good luck at it!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Oh wow! I think I need to try these! 😉 Steangeky enough, the rhubarb one is calling out to me most. I used to eat rhubarb all the time growing up and so miss it!

    And, it’s my birthday weekend, so I am looking forward to hopefully finding some time to relax, and enjoying time with friends and family.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. These bars look great! I’ve definitely been becoming more conscientious of what ingredients I’ve been putting in my body, which means I’ve started trying to avoid bars with 30+ ingredients, many of which sound like they belong in a science experiment. I’ll have to keep an eye out for them!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I am sorry you had to drop out as a pacer. 😦 I hate dropping out of things but it is so important to listen to your body, as you obviously know. Hopefully some healthy running days are ahead!

    Lately I have been having half a turkey sandwich if I am hungry during the day. I usually need something substantial or I will just get hungry again in an hour!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I love Nakd bars- did you know the cocoa and chocolate orange ones are the perfect 4:1 ratio for recovery? I always have them on hand in my gym bag. Such a shame you couldn’t pace- hope everything gets back to normal soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

