Thinking Out Loud – I’m Alive

Well hello there friends! Sorry for my unexpected absence yesterday. Between a not so fun doctors appointment Tuesday night and an emotionally tough few days, I just didn’t have it in me to share my (lack of) eats with you. But I’m back today and attempting to turn my frown upside down. So let’s get to it….

Thinking Out Loud Thursday – Where I can be as random as I want and no explanations are needed. Thinking-Out-Loud

  • This might be what I miss most about my morning runs. Nothing like ocean, blue skies, and fresh air to start your day off right. I’ve been doing a lot of walking recently, just to feel like I’m being active in someway, and I couldn’t help but smile after I took this picture. No matter how I’m feeling, and even if I’m not running as much as I’d like… life is good.
Hashtag No Filter


  • In attempts to move away from #SmoothieLife, I made this beautiful acai bowl. Topped with freeze dried fruit. I think the concept is so weird, but at the same time cannot get enough of the Trader Joe’s freeze dried strawberries and blueberries.

 

  • Serious question… does anyone know how much fruit is TOO much fruit? Sometimes I think I’m eating a pound of sugar a day because all I ingest is fruit.
Can’t stop. Won’t stop.


  • Speaking of Trader Joe’sOBSESSED with their cauliflower rice. I think I need to play with the “vegan cheese” recipe (read: almond milk and yeast), but I pretty much am in love. Definitely quells my “comfort food” craving!


  • And this. #LifeEssential
Tip – Add to your smoothies.


  • I’m eagerly awaiting my StitchFix… I’m really hoping that there are some good pieces. However I’m #ForeverPoor at the moment, so hopefully it’s not TOO good ! Reminding myself to be careful what I wish for….
  • So happy today is Thursday. Next week is a short week for me (holy crow it’s almost the Fourth of July!?), and then I took the following Monday off so HAI two short weeks back to back : ) Where is summer going!? #CuePanic
  • I have a really exciting post for tomorrow and I can’t wait to share! I know, I know.. the suspense is so killer. So stay tuned!

And that’s all I have. My brain is totally discombobulated (spell check knew what word I was trying to type #MindBlown) so please forgive my incoherent post and random pictures. Love you all.


What puts a smile on your face when you’re feeling blah? Nothing like some sunshine and fresh air in my opinion!

But seriously… how much fruit is too much fruit? I think I need to go on a fruit cleanse in August… it’s all I’ve been eating. Bananas for DAYS.

Anyone else feel like summer is almost gone?

Any exciting plans for the Fourth of July?

44 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud – I’m Alive

  1. Ummmm, I need that cold brew stuff. ASAP!! I’m with you – would love to know how much fruit is too much fruit. In my case, watermelons and cherries for days. AAAND I woke up this morning sad, like summer was flying by and is almost over! WTF DUDE it’s NOT EVEN THE 4TH YET. As for the 4th, I’m running a 15K! Have a great day!!!

    Like

  2. Hope you are feeling better! Honestly I consume SO MUCH fruit – like, in one day I can down 2 bowls of berries, a bowl or two of melon, and several apples and peaches. My mom always said that’s why I attract so many mosquitoes…because I smell sweet!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so sorry that you haven’t been feeling well! I am on that fruit-intake level. It’s out.of.control with summer produce! I am jealous of that water view and am hoping to catch a beach run when I’m home for the 4th. Also, MUST try that rice (I don’t usually like rice but have been meaning to try to make that) and am obsessed with cold brew. True story. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I eat ALL the fruit! I think my food pyramid probably consists of at least 50% fruit. I don’t know how much is “too much,” but in my opinion I can never have enough. Eating frozen berries and fruit is also delicious in the summertime heat, and even for putting on greek yogurt drizzled with peanut butter (which I do almost every morning).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jamie, I wonder the same thing about fruit; I could live on fruit alone. I read once that Steve Jobs (before and during his struggle with cancer) was on a fruit-only diet and I thought that was brilliant – ha! I keep forgetting that we have a short week next week, but I’m really glad! My vacation begins! I’ll be off work the entire next week to spend time at a nearby lake (we’ve rented a place to stay) for my birthday. I’m still so jealous about your frozen cauliflower rice; even more so now that I know you like it – ha! Hope you have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love that you apologize for not blogging for 1-2 days….it’s a small miracle if I manage to post more than once a week. LOL.

    I remember being totally devastated when I finally found out – later in life than I care to admit – that fruit was full of sugar and not as healthy as veggies. So now I also worry about eating too much of it, or if I’m negating the greens in my smoothies by adding too much fruit.

    I have a short week next week too and I’m soooooooooo happy. It’s been way too long since I had a 3 day weekend (traveling to the marathon doesn’t count!)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. There are few things better than running by the water/ocean!! Freeze dried fruit from TJ’s is amazing–their vegan cheese on the other hand I could do without ha! We are headed to the beach for the 4th–trying to convince my husband to take off Monday too so we can have a longer weekend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. oh wow i need to get some of that TJ’s cauliflower rice like stat. i love cauliflower rice but dislike making it so much 😉
    i happen to LOVE gorgeous walks in parks, we live right along a bayou in the city, so it’s city-meets-nature and i love it. a nice long walk always makes me happy, it’s food for the soul 🙂 as much as i love running, walking is something i can do forever! so that’s always nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’ve had the same fruit question before, ESPECIALLY with bananas. Needless to say, I Web-MDed it, and in addition to the cancer/death I’ve diagnosed myself with from doing so, there’s possible potassium toxicity, etc. etc. etc.

    But forreal, it’s not like you’re living off of Hershey bars – this is good sugar haha, I wouldn’t worry (unless you start to turn yellow…)

    So glad you’re back!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. You know, random thought: you might be craving fruit not just because it is delicious but because you are having a flare–your body is in need of nutrients like protein and long lasting energy sources, and thus the fruit craving. Just a thought. But fruit is indeed delicious.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. So sorry things are rough on the medical front!
    I keep thinking summer is basically over – is that weird? I have so much in August and the fall months that I feel are rapidly approaching that I haven’t really taken a step back and appreciated the warm weather. Note to self, do that immediately!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Hope you feel better soon!! For me, being outside, especially by water, or just seeing my dog (a picture works as well) always makes me feel better!!
    For 4th of July we’re going to Dan’s family’s lake house for a long weekend..they have jet skis and kayaks and a boat…it’s going to be a fun time!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Adding cauliflower rice to the shopping list! And I hope you feel better soon, my mom and husband deal with GI issues so I have some understanding of how tough they can be. And summer is just getting started – soak it in!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Stitch fix is something I have wanted to try but honestly I find it rather expensive for what it does. I’ve been buying a lot of products on Ruelala (which are heavily discounted).

    I’ve wondered that about fruit too. I do have a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I was just thinking about how fast this year has gone today actually ! It’s crazy how it’s only six months until Xmas! Ahhh! In regards to fruit I think I eat a lot more here in Europe than I did back in Canada but that doesn’t surprise me! And the fourth of the July I think I actually will be celebrating it in Paris at a hostel party!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Sorry you’ve been feeling a little blah lately. I agree that the best way to combat that is with the ocean breeze, blue skies, and fresh air. It can work wonders. Whenever I want a personal mental health day, the beach is where I find my peace… or if I need something closer, a pretty park will do the trick too where I can just sit on a bench and relax 😀 Hope you feel better soon!!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I hope you feel better soon! I know all I want to eat when I feel sick is fruit (I have endometriosis so I practically live off fruit during that time of month), so I’d say listen to your body and don’t worry about what is too much – it’s not like fruit is bad for you. Fresh air and sunshine are definitely nature’s cure-alls – and I would add to that salt, whether it’s from the beach or a nice sweat.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I’ve wondered about the fruit thing myself since I tend to eat a crazy amount of it as well. But I figured that the body knows what it’s doing, and there are way worse things to be addicted to than fruit. That being said, just pay attention to how you feel, and if you feel fabulous, then there’s no reason to fix something that ain’t broken 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I love fruit too. Stick veggies in front of me and I’ll pass in no time if I can. I never thought too much fruit was a thing. But then one time I read some article saying a calorie is a calorie so technically you can still gain weight eating too much fruit. I say that article ruined my fun so I didn’t listen to it. Plus, fruit is so low in calories and has natural sugars that I don’t really care. Bring on the fruit!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. My fruit addiction is REAL. I eat so much of it that I wonder if it does reverse damage. But I obviously don’t wonder too much because I happily keep eating it 🙂 I need to try cold brew because it seems to be ALL the rage. I don’t like coffee so I don’t know how that will go haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not a big coffee drinkers and it typically reeks havoc on my stomach but I find the cold brew to be a lot less acidic! Let me know what you think!

      Like

  21. Seeing my cat lying in my bathroom sink looking all cute brings a smile to my face! I don’t think you can eat too much fruit. I follow a few vegan fruitarians and they only eat fruit and are really healthy and vibrant!
    Not to bring any more “where is summer going” blues…but Christmas is 6 months away!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Oh summer just needs to slow the heck down, it cannot be July next week. I love fruit, I miss fruit, it’s on my restricted list right now. Reintroducing didn’t work out so well. 😦 I’ve thought about trying that Cold brew but I wish they sold smaller bottles.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Girl, I feel you on the fruit obsession! I probably eat 4-6 servings a day! I asked my dietitian friend I work with if there is such a thing as too much fruit and she said there could be worse things. With the nutrients it offers it is better than other processed options. Thus, I feel better with the quantities I consume, haha.

    Running in the morning sunshine gives me a dose of happiness when I feel blah. Or playing and snuggling with my pup, Milo. He’s a dog but I swear he is part teddy bear ;-). So sweet and cuddly.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. what is that cold brew, i must try! love fruit too but prob could be eating more of it lately, i realize, and less chips/snacky stuff. whoops. i’m going upstate to the lake for July 4th, and this wknd (tonight!) to Charleston! yay for trips!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah I love Charleston! So jealous!! Cold brew is like super concentrated coffee but less acidic so it’s much easier on my stomach!! Have such a great weekend 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

