The Most Marvelous of Weekends

Greetings! How was everyones weekend?! I had an absolutely incredible 48 hours, so I think it’s only appropriate to celebrate all the fun we had these past two days and start our Monday’s off on a Marvelous note.

MiMM

I know you’re all excited to hear about my “surprise” Saturday night. But since I like being neat and tidy, I’m going to start where it all began. Friday night.

My boyfriend and I celebrated the end of a seemingly endless week with dinner at Bodega. Their brussel sprouts are to die for. And they have amazing non-meat options. I usually stick with the seared ahi Tuna tacos with crushed avocado, ginger carrots and sriracha aioli. I’m pretty positive I could live on Mexican food. Although Italian is a staple in my diet, i.e. #AllTheCarbs, I cannot get enough Guac.

Although I tried my best, I faded late night and opted to pass up on beers with BF and his friends for my couch, some stretchy pants and Jurassic Park. Now, most of you are probably thinking, “oh wow, great movie”, and until Friday night, I had never seen it. #ShelteredLife. I was told by my cinema loving boyfriend that it is incredible, and in order for me to go see Jurassic World with him, I had to watch the original. So I curled up on my couch, settled in with some popcorn, and rented the infamous Spielberg movie. And I hated strongly disliked it. I just could not for the life of me get into it. I know. I’m weird. Here’s to hoping the new one’s better?

Saturday I got up and had the most brutal 10 miler. It was beyond humid, and I was mentally struggling the entire time. I think it was one of those runs which just reminds me that not every run is going to be a good one. After I finished, conveniently at Starbucks, I got back to my apartment and decided to treat myself to an amazing 30 minute reflexology session. First off, if you don’t like a foot rub, we probably have nothing in common. Second, I’m pretty sure my reflexologist was a voodoo doctor. 5 minutes into my massage he asked me if I had been sick recently since my feet held tension in the sinus/head area. WHAT!? #MindBlown. Needless to say, I no longer trust Western medicine and will now only be getting my feet rubbed to fix any and all ailments I may have.

Saturday was my “surprise“, and it was AMAZING! Honestly, I have the most incredible, thoughtful, loving, all the nice adjectives you can imagine, boyfriend. He surprised me with AWESOME tickets to Zac Brown Band. They are one of my favorite bands and I have wanted to see them live forever. We had incredible seats, and the show was unreal. It was the best concert I’ve ever been to. I had one of the best nights I can remember and am so thankful for having such a wonderful person in my life. #GushingOver.

As seen on Instagram

We stayed in Hartford Saturday night which was incredible – am I the only one who LOVES hotel beds? – and was able to sleep in until 9am. Who am I? We spent the remaining part of Sunday at the beach, soaking in some rays, running a few errands, and of course ending the weekend with some homemade pizza : ) .

I wouldn’t want to spend my weekend any other way, and am riding my weekend high into the week. We’re hoping to break the week up with a mid-week movie, and have a lot of fun things planned for this upcoming weekend.

I hope everyone had a phenomenal weekend and has a MARVELOUS Monday! Linking up with Erin for Weekend RecapTara for Weekend Update, and Katie for Marvelous Monday 

What was your favorite part of the weekend?

What is the best concert you’ve ever been to?

Looking forward to anything fun this week? Potential mid-week movie, and my return to Tuesday night RunClub!

54 thoughts on “The Most Marvelous of Weekends

  1. I AM SO SO SO JEALOUS/HAPPY THAT YOU GOT TO SEE ZBB! I wanted to see them Thursday night, but alas, I did not. Best concert I’ve been to was Eric Church 🙂 And I’m a sucker for hotel beds too. The fluffiness combined with the fact that you don’t have to make them yourself means all the better relaxation!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such an awesome weekend! And that reflexology sounds really cool. I have really ticklish feet but I think it would be amazing if I could handle that 🙂 The concert sound fantastic as well (as you know one of my songs of the week on Friday was chicken fried and I can’t stop listening to it! I’ll have to listen to more songs now.) My favorite concert ever is a tie between Christina Aguilera and John Legend. Both amazing singers who sound even better live! I’m going to see Pentatonix and Kelly Clarkson next month which may take the top spot 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. When I saw Jurassic Park I was probably 11 or 12 and was still captivated by it, but I have no idea how I’d respond to it now! I’m not a movie person to begin with (concentration, sitting still, it’s a commitment!) but I think that is one that must be seen in in a theater.

    Glad you had such an awesome surprise! Ride that high as far into the week as possible 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha yes – I think I’m just a bad movie watcher… like when is it over? Haha. I do better with made for TV series. An hour at a time, done deal. Anything over 2 hours, no thanks!

      Like

  4. I loooove Zach Brown Band! What an awesome surprise!! I went to a college friend’s wedding this weekend and it was super fun. I think the best concert I’ve been to was Eric Church, but Zach Brown is on my list of concerts to go see!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You must go! It was honestly so incredible. They played amazing sets, and actually did some pretty incredible covers! Weddings are the absolute best – so much good food! Haha.

      Like

  5. Yep your BF wins best BF award. I love Zac Brown!!! The best concert I have ever been to was Luke Bryan. It was 2 days after my 21st birthday and we were first row in the pit. I will never forget it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I saw Luke Bryan last year and while incredible, it had NOTHING on ZBB! I was honestly blown away Saturday night. Plus it was outdoors so that always helps! Concerts are so much fun!

      Like

  6. I definitely need to check out a reflexoligist, I hear amazing things. I started doing acupuncture last year and said the same thing you did – screw western medicine. Best concert…I’ve been to a LOT but I loved Of Monsters and Men!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You’re post title is SPOT.ON. What a perfect weekend- minus the crappy run, although, at least you got to run, so we’ll still count that as a positive. I thought the original Jurassic Park was OK, but i don’t think I’ll like the new one. Wanna go together so we can leave half way through and get Mexican or Italian?! SO jelly of you seeing ZBB. Glad you had a blast! Happy Monday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes exactly… and as crappy as the run was, at least it built some mental toughness! Haha YES ! I like the idea of food >> Movies : ) Hope you have a fantastic day!!

      Like

  8. What a fantastic surprise! And I’m with you–Alex loves Jurassic Park, it’s not my thing. He also really wants to see the new Mad Max because everyone has told him that it was good, and I”m like, no thanks. I don’t care.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. It’s funny- I’ve never seen Jurassic Park either but Friday night it was on and Tim wanted to watch it so that’s what we did. I rolled my eyes the entire time and played on my iPad haha
    LOVE your surprise though! I love staying in hotels. My bed now is about as comfortable as any hotel bed, but there’s something special about staying in another place for a night that just feels like luxury. Let’s hope this week flies!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Major props to your bf for surprising you with tickets to Zac Brown Band! Awesome way to spend a Saturday night 🙂
    Maybe it’s because I was a total dinosaur geek as a child (who am I kidding, I still am…), but I LOVED Jurassic Park. Hopefully you enjoy the new one more. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sounds like a great weekend! And Im so curious about that reflexology massage?! Amazing that he was able to know that from your feet. So is it just a foot rub? How does the price compare to a full body massage?! Zac Brown Band sounds like it was so much fun!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a foot rub, but focuses on pressure points on your feel that correlate to other body parts. There’s a local place around me that does $28 for a half hour. I think it’s really reasonable, especially because my feet/calfs are usually what bother me most after long miles. While I much prefer a full body (who doesn’t..) I think it’s a cost effective “treat yo self” kinda massage. : )

      Like

  12. Sounds like such a fun weekend! Hotel beds are always incredible and the concert sounds great!
    I’m going to sound crazy, but I LOVE Jurassic Park. It’s been one of my favorite movies for years and Ryan and I watched the whole trilogy this weekend to prepare for Jurassic World. I even own the book…I’m a total nerd.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Jamie, what a FUN weekend! I’m so jealous that you went to a Zac Brown Band concert; that is DEFINITELY a treat. Is there anything better than summer concerts? Um, yes to a reflexology massage…I need to find out if anyone around here does things like that. Which movie are you thinking of seeing mid-week? Thanks so much for joining in on the link up again; hope your Monday is going well!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. That sounds like an awesome weekend! I spent my weekend preparing for finals and sleeping, but I did get to hang out with a bunch of my friends which is always nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I actually liked Jurassic Park but only because I ❤ Steven Spielberg. I also loved Jaws hahaha. The best part of my weekend was spending time with a boy and eating at a new Vegan restaurant ❤ ❤
    The fun things of the week: finishing moving! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. That sounds so wonderful. Totally with you on Mexican food. Cannot go wrong. Also, yes to hotel beds (and pillows!)

    Just getting into Zac Brown Band because Bai is sponsoring their tour this summer. They’re a lot of fun and they sound like they’d be amazing to see live.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. That definitely sounds like a marvelous weekend! I’m so glad you had a great one. Ahi tuna tacos are one of my FAVORITE THINGS (and I agree that I might be able to live off Mexican food…especially those or shrimp tacos. YUM.) So cool you got to see Zac Brown Band!! What a killer surprise!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Awesome weekend! I admit I love Jurassic Park, I still jump every time I watch it. I am less enthusiastic about the the 2 sequels though but I am hopeful the new one is good. I would say the best concert I’ve seen was either Montgomery Gentry or Skillet. Meatloaf was pretty good too. I have odd music taste. 🙂 Zac Brown Band will actually be playing in town in July but I can’t decide if I am going to go to any of the fair concerts. I would like to see Little Big Town in a few weeks but it’s on a Thursday. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Sounds like a lovely weekend you had 🙂 and how sweet of your boyfriend.!
    I was totally not a Jurassic Park fan either, actually, I don’t think I’ve ever watched it from start to finish. Just little parts here and there and the beginning before I fall asleep. lol
    Best concert I’ve ever been to was Death Cab for Cutie.! they were amazing live 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  20. I LOVE hotel beds. I think I sleep better while traveling than at home. Plus the curtains! I always end up sleeping later than I intend to because the curtains in hotel rooms keep everything so nice and dark!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. What an awesome weekend you had! That was a great surprise. Props to the boyfriend! 🙂

    I think my favorite concert ever was probably my first concert ever. ‘Nsync in like ’97, and I screamed the entire time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

