Five Friday Favorites 6/5

It’s Friday Fri-YAY!

Having a short week last week, this week seemed to go on for an eternity. I definitely don’t exaggerate at all… But either way, it’s Friday and I’m linking up with Heather and Clare this week for my Friday Favorites.

  • First and foremost, I was informed a few weeks back that my wonderful boyfriend planned a surprise for me on June 6th. Which is tomorrow. Since I’m not snoopy, characteristic not the cartoon, I have no idea what we’re doing. I’ve been informed that it will require an overnight bag, so needless to say I’m pretty excited.
  • Bertha. I mean honestly, homegirl is my favorite. Everyday she surprises me in new ways. One day it’s her ability to puree, the next she’s making acai bowls like a champ. I mean honestly look at this…

 

  • I feel so honored to have been tagged in not one but TWO blog surveys this week. Do people actually read this? Is this thing on? I plan on working on these over the next week.
  • I know I’m not the only one who lives for trashy TV, but Keeping Up with the Kardashians is my absolute favorite. We’ve already discussed my obsession with Scott, but if we’re being real, I’ve been #TeamKourtney from the very beginning. And for all you haters out there, this article explains why.anigif_optimized-14087-1432900283-1
  • Some of you have inquired about my Asparagus Fettuccine. I’ve included the recipe below. I absolutely loved it. I made it Monday night and I portioned it out to last me all week for lunch. It was the perfect mid-day meal, filling but not quite food-coma status. If you make it, please let me know what you think!

    Asparagus Fettuccine with Lemon and Pepper (Serves 4 – 30 minute total)

    Ingredients:
    5 tbs olive oil, divided
    5 cloves garlic, minced (2 tbs)
    2 lbs asparagus, trimmed and sliced diagonally into 1-inch lengths
    3 tbs fresh lemon juice
    1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
    8 oz. fettuccine
    1 tbs. grated lemon zest 
    Instructions:
    1. Heat 2 tbs oil in skillet over medium heat. Add garlic, and saute 2 minutes or until golden. Stir in asparagus, season with salt if desired. Saute 2 minutes, then cover skillet, and cook 5 minutes or until asparagus is bright green and just tender. Transfer half of asparagus to plate and set aside.
    2. Cook remaining asparagus 1 minute more, then transfer to bowl of food processor (or Bertha in my case). Add lemon juice, pepper, and remaining 3 tbs oil, and blend until sauce is smooth.
    3. Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain, reserve 1/4 cup cooking water. Return pasta to pot and toss with asparagus sauce, reserved cooking water and lemon zest. Stir in reserved asparagus and season with salt and pepper if desired.


    Nutrition (per serving): 394 calories, 10 g protein, 18 g total sat (3 g sat fat), 49 g carb, 0 mg cholesterol, 17 mg sodium, 5 g fiber, 4 g sugar.

Friday-Favorite-Link-Up-Botton-Life-In-Leggings

So there you have it folks! Hope you all have a fantastic weekend and enjoy this gorgeous weather!


What are you loving this week?

Any fun weekend plans?

Do you love or hate surprises? Love em! I never really snoop because I think it makes it so much more fun for everyone!

Let me know if you try the Asparagus Fettuccine. Would love to hear your feedback!

28 thoughts on “Five Friday Favorites 6/5

  1. I don’t dislike surprises, if I don’t know that they are coming. But it also very much depends on what type of surprise it is. LOVE surprise gifts because I never think that people consider me outside of just directly. But major events changes, not so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I HATE SURPRISES; THEY MAKE ME SO NERVOUS. Like, if I don’t like it, and everyone is looking at me with anticipation, I can’t just FAKE happiness!? (Flashbacks to a rather awful surprise 16 party… yikes).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know what it is, but trashy TV is my favorite. I could watch it forever. It’s like my guilty pleasure haha. I hope you try it – I’m a big asparagus lover so I was sold on the name alone! : ) Have a great day!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. That show is everything. When a KUWTK marathon is on…. I will not be leaving the couch – no matter how many times I’ve seen the episode haha.

      Like

  3. I love surprises but I’m super snoopy / nebby (there’s a pittsburghese word for you!) and always want to find out. I used to love KUWTK but don’t anymore since I don’t have cable, but kourtney was always my favorite. I love her “I’m so over it” attitude and her no nonsense approach with Kim!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha she’s the most laid back (if that’s even possible in that family) and I love that she’s so impartial to pretty much anything that goes on. Glad I’m not the only KUWTK fan! : )

      Like

  4. Ooooh, I’m totally looking forward to seeing what the surprise was!! I don’t keep up with the Kardashians via television but I can’t help but read all the trashy reality stuff online or in magazines lol! I also like Kourtney; she definitely keeps it the realest. Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I loooove surprises – even if they don’t surprise you, because its often hilarious to see what people thought would have surprised you, if you get my drift? Your pasta recipe looks the BOMB – definitely trying that one out next week!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m always torn on surprises. I love them at times but get mad when they are “bad” surprises, which is understandable I guess haha. Have so much fun! Oh and KUWTK has been my guilty pleasure since it started. Kourtney’s voice and (lack of) expressions kill me.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh wow! Sounds like somebody has a great boyfriend. A surprise weekend sounds super fun!

    I, however, do not like surprises. And, I am very snoopy. My boyfriend could never do a surprise weekend for me. Poor guy! I’m a big planner, and an over-packer, and…yeah, it would just be a mess. 😛

    Have fun!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This sounds delicious! I love that it is creamy like most pasta dishes without having dairy involved in it. Thanks so much for sharing. I can’t wait to give this a try!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I know this is an older post.. but can I just say, Kourtney and Scott are my favorite celebrity couple.!! they are just too funny. I love Keeping up with the Kardashians. lol I can’t help but to love the trashy tv shows. No shame girl.!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

