Super Duper Weenie

Unlike what you MIGHT be thinking…. Super Duper Weenie is one of the BEST (THE BEST according to BF) hotdog joints. (FYI it has also been featured on Dinners, Drive-Ins & Dives). Over the past couple of weeks, we have been talking about making a trip up to indulge in some hot dogs, veggie burgers, fries, and milkshakes.

SuperDuperLogo-RedBorder-clean
Located in Fairfield, CT

So this past weekend we went! What better excuse to go than beautiful weather, and already being in the area to spend part of our day at the beach! One of the hardest parts of being a vegetarian/picky eater is that a lot of times, fast food restaurants just do not have any options that are meat-free. When we found out that Super Duper Weenie is toted as having the best veggie burger, I was BEYOND excited.

I would be lying if I said I wasn’t a veggie burger snob. The best veggie burger I’ve ever had resides in Nantucket at a restaurant called The Brotherhood. Every single time I’m on island I have to go and get my fix. Since it’s not the most accessible place, I am always on the hunt for a good, local, veggie burger.

I was nervous that at 1:30 on a Saturday there would be a long line, and BF and I would grow hangry, but there was almost no line. After we ordered, one of the coolest things happened. We got to be taste testers! I’m not quite sure what the cookie was called, but when the owner asked if anyone liked “hot things”, I knew BF had to try. It was a chocolate cookie made with chipotle seasoning. The chef said he was going for a hint of spice to play off the chocolate. BF tried the cookie first since I was nervous I wouldn’t like “the heat”, but after trying it, it ended up not being too spicy at all. Rather, it was an odd combination. I felt a bit of a kick after I ate a piece, but I was not totally sure if the recipe was a success or if it was a cookie I would buy on my own. I classified it as a chocolate ginger snap. But then again, what do I know. I have a palate of a 5 year old.

Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 2.27.30 PM
Some of their favorite famous hotdogs

Anyways, the best part of our trip was the food. Obviously. BF had ordered some fries and a Californian (homemade meat chili, freshly chopped onion, American cheese, and hot relish). You can find a comprehensive menu here. I got the veggie burger with lettuce and onion. We both refrained from milkshakes as I think our eyes would have been bigger than our stomachs. As I type this I am sad. So I guess that means we’ll just have to go back again soon! : )

Why are you a better food blogger than me?!?! (Photo cred to BF)


BF absolutely loved his hot dog. In high school, his go-to was the Cininnatian, but I believe the Californian takes the cake.

Veggie burger with special sauce on the side!

In regards to the veggie burger, I give it a 6.5/7 out of 10. While it was good, and not greasy (how some veggie burgers are greasy is BEYOND me), I felt like it was a bit dry. It almost was a little tough to chew, and I felt like it was mostly made of corn and breadcrumbs, not actual vegetables. Would I eat it again? Yes. Would I go here if I was craving a veggie burger? Probably not. Also – the veggie patty was more than a gourmet hot dog ($7 vs &5)? I think there are some other restaurants that give you a better veggie burger for your buck – Plan B or Little Pub.

Overall a great experience and super fun. It’s a relaxed atmosphere and everyone working there, the owner is usually manning the grill himself!, is so personable and friendly. If you’re local to the area and are looking for the next fancy “gourmet” fast food joint, stop into Super Duper Weenie.

I know I’ll be back for my milkshake VERY soon. And fries… who am I kidding.


Do you have any go to fast food joints?

What’s the best veggie burger you’ve ever had? The Brotherhood in Nantucket 100%. Then Little Pub in Ridgefield, CT, and Plan B burger has a good veggie burger and they give you the option to getting it on a lettuce bun!

10 thoughts on “Super Duper Weenie

  1. Yay!- finally, my comment worked! I was having a hell of a time earlier today!
    Anyway, I LOOOVE a good veggie burger! My husband and I joke that we judge a place based on their steak tips (him!) and veggie burgers (me!). I’m pretty particular! I like them homemade and with actual veggies, and not like a thin, frozen patty.
    Also, I want a milkshake!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The veggie burger sounds awesome!! I am an aspiring vegan and I can tell you where all the veggie burger spots are because I seek them out lol! One of my fave spots is Tropical Smoothie Cafe! Not only do they have killer killer smoothies – can you say devour?! – but since they made Beyond Meat Chicken Strips permanent in 2013 I’ve been a passionate and dedicated customer oh yes!! Delish!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

